Action Alert: The Pathway Bill is a Floor Vote Away from the Governor's Desk!

 

If you're following the journey of SB 5822: A Pathway to Universal Healthcare, you know it's making history: it is the first bill in Washington state history to declare healthcare a human right. It has sailed through the Senate, out of the House Health Care & Wellness Committee and the Appropriations Committee. That's history-making by itself - but this bill also has bi-partisan support!

Now, SB 5822 sits in the House Rules Committee, where it is just one floor vote away from landing on the Governor’s desk.

This is why this action - five minutes, tops - is so important.

 

What to Do - Email the Rules Committee Members


1) In a new email, copy and paste the following Rules Committee members into the recipients:

steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov, kelly.chambers@leg.wa.gov, mike.chapman@leg.wa.gov, Chris.Corry@leg.wa.gov,  Lauren.Davis@leg.wa.gov, Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov, Chris.Gildon@leg.wa.gov, Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov, 
Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov, Joel.Kretz@leg.wa.gov, John.Lovick@leg.wa.gov, Jacquelin.Maycumber@leg.wa.gov, 
Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov, Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.gov, Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov, Marcus.Riccelli@leg.wa.gov, 
Skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov, Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov,Monica.Stonier@leg.wa.gov, Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov, 
Robert.Sutherland@leg.wa.gov, Mike.Volz@leg.wa.gov, JT.Wilcox@leg.wa.gov, Sharon.Wylie@leg.wa.gov


2) Copy and paste this text into the body:

Dear House Rules Committee members,

SB 5822: A Pathway to Universal Healthcare has reached the House Rules Committee - the first bill of its kind to do so in Washington state history. If enacted, this bill will study ways to control health care costs while ensuring that all state residents can access the care they need.

Your fellow legislators got it this far - and with historic bipartisan support. I write today to request that you convey to Speaker Chopp that Washington wants SB 5822 to be pulled out of Rules on to the House Floor.

SB 5822 has made it this far. Please ask Speaker Chopp to do his part in serving Washingtonians and honor SB 5822's progress - and give Washingtonians the chance at meaningful healthcare reform.

Thank you for your time and commitment to the well-being of Washingtonians.

Sincerely,
(your name)


3) Send and DONE!

That's it - a few minutes and your voice will help make Washington state history. This is an excellent chance to seize the momentum and impress upon legislators that we will champion the cause of meaningful healthcare reform until we achieve meaningful healthcare reform.

Without your support and effort, we wouldn't be where we are today. Thank you for all you do.

For more on the current situation in Olympia, go here.

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

  • Cathy Ferbrache
    commented 2019-04-17 15:02:30 -0700
    That is amazing!!!
    One big question: is there a part of the bill that funds an actuarial analysis? It’s mentioned at the end fo the summary on website, but as if it may not be necessary.